Classical Music Discoveries

Find us on YouTube at:Classical Music Discoveries - YouTube


episode 317: 19317 Penitence and Lamentation

On Friday, November 3, 2023, Scribe Records releases Penitence & Lamentation, the Byrd Ensemble’s new album marking 400 years since the death of its namesake, William Byrd, and coinciding with Byrd Ensemble’s 20th anniversary season. Praised for their “rich, full-voiced, and perfectly blended” (Early Music America) sound, the Byrd Ensemble’s new project focuses on the unifying theme of guilt and grief, forming a collection of songs by Byrd and his contemporaries; Thomas Tallis’s monumental 40-part motet, Spem in alium; and the world premiere recording of Nico Muhly’s Fallings (2023), based on Byrd's motet, Ne irascaris Domine. The album’s first single, Nicolas Gombert’s Lugebat David Absalon, will be released on all streaming services on October 13. 

Penitence & Lamentation Album Tracklist

1. Nicolas Gombert – Lugebat David Absalon [8:20]

2. William Byrd – Domine secumdum actum meum [6:52]

3. Thomas Tallis – In jejunio et fletu  [4:06]

4. Thomas Tallis – Absterge Domine  [5:33]

5. Thomas Crecquillon – Pater paccavi [8:36]

6. Robert Ramsey – How are the mighty fallen  [5:14]

7. William Byrd – Emendemus in melius [3:17]

8. William Byrd – Ye sacred muses  [3:09]

9. William Byrd – Ne irascaris Domine [7:56]

10. Nico Muhly – Fallings (2023) (World Premiere Recording) [7:00]

11. Robert Carver – O bone Jesu [12:36]

This album is broadcasted with the permission of Katy Salomon representing Primo Artists.

fyyd: Podcast Search Engine

 November 3, 2023  58m