Melodic Treks: A Star Trek Music Podcast

Melodic Treks is a podcast dedicated entirely to the music of Star Trek. Host Brandon-Shea Mutala explores the themes, orchestral scores, and incidental compositions that bring Star Trek episodes and films to life, as well as the composers, singers and musicians behind the sounds.


episode 96: 100 Voices

When the Train Stops. 
Clive Emerson (Darren Jacobs) is a young fugitive with a troubled past and bleak future. When the law catches up with him, he's taken into custody by U.S. Marshal Preston Booth (Michael Forest) and begins a long train trip across the American southwest back to prison.
Though Booth takes a personal interest in the case when Clive insists upon his innocence, the young man ultimately resigns himself to his sad fate. But little does Clive know that the future waiting for him when the train stops isn't at all what he expects - and neither, for that matter, is Marshal Booth...

In this episode of Melodic Treks, host Brandon-Shea Mutala is joined by James Kerwin, Mike Avenaim, and Rekha Sharma to discuss the score to the short film When the Train Stops. They talk about the sarangi, what they feel this instrument represents, recording sessions, teachers and father figures, and some of the challenges in  distribution of a short film. 

Intro (00:00:00) 
Welcome to Melodic Treks (00:00:58) 
Not What I Was Expecting (00:04:05) 
Sarangi (00:06:30) 
Incorporating the Sarangi (00:13:00) 
A Drummer (00:17:34) 
What Does the Sarangi Represent? (00:24:14) 
"Don't Call Me Ma'am" (00:26:31) 
"Quite a Story" (00:31:50) 
Finding Rekha (00:33:53) 
Short vs Feature (00:35:32) 
Finding Mike and James (00:40:34) 
"You Got No Rights" (00:43:41) 
Closing (00:47:23)

all music composed by Mike Avenaim except the opening and closing which is composed by Cliff Eidelman and taken from Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country.
Brandon-Shea Mutala
James Kerwin, Mike Avenaim, and Rekha Sharma
Brandon-Shea Mutala (Editor and Producer) C Bryan Jones (Executive Producer) Matthew Rushing (Executive Producer) Ken Tripp (Executive Producer) Norman C. Lao (Associate Producer) Tony Robinson (Associate Producer) Stephen Boyd (Associate Producer) Bobby Tucker (Associate Producer) Richard Marquez (Production Manager) Tony Robinson (Show Art) Brandon-Shea Mutala (Patreon Manager)


 2018-12-22  51m