Feminist Frequency Radio

Feminist Frequency Radio is coming for your media. Each week, Anita Sarkeesian, Carolyn Petit, and Ebony Aster bring you dispatches from the pop culture wars and invite you to listen in on their entertaining, stimulating, take-no-prisoners conversations about the latest films, games, and tv. They’ll be bringing their distinctly different feminist perspectives to the mix as they celebrate and critique it all. With special guests from all over the feminist media sphere, an assortment of great bonus segments, and your questions keeping them on their toes, Feminist Frequency Radio is there to help you dig deeper into the things you love. Warning: Feminist Frequency Radio may significantly enhance your media experience. Join our community at Patreon.com/femfreq Feminist Frequency Radio is powered by Simplecast

http://www.feministfrequency.com

subscribe
share





episode 126: FFR 126: Entertainment News II - The Reckoning


Anita, Ebony and Carolyn are back with another Entertainment News roundup. What’s up for discussion today? The Snyder Cut of Justice League is coming (yikes)! E3 is cancelled, but do we even need it anymore? And Joe Biden is taking the black vote for granted. Commiserate with us as we wade through the mostly bad (and somewhat absurd) of recent news, with at least one bit of good news for fans of a particular cancelled Netflix favorite.

 

CW: discussion of suicide during segment on Hana Kimura’s recent death. Time stamp located below.

 

Time Stamps:

5:51 - The Snyder Cut of Justice League is coming - https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/justice-league-snyder-cut-plans-revealed-it-will-be-an-new-thing-1295102

17:28 - The deathbed confession of Norma Corvey aka Jane Roe of Roe v Wade - https://www.vox.com/2020/5/22/21267493/aka-jane-roe-norma-mccorvey-deathbed-confession

22:35 - Joe Biden interview on The Breakfast Club with Charlamagne tha God - https://youtu.be/KOIFs_SryHI

33:36 - Hana Kimura has died at 22; online harassment was likely a factor - https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/hana-kimura-dead-pro-wrestler-terrace-house-contestant-dies-at-22-1295776

39:24 - Digital Games Events to replace E3 - Summer Game Fest: https://www.summergamefest.com/ - Steam Game Festival: Summer Edition: https://store.steampowered.com/sale/gamefestival - Gamescom: https://www.gamescom.global/home/

white feminism and COVID-19 - https://twitter.com/aliciasanchez/status/1262211508433543168?s=19 in regards to this article: https://www.independent.co.uk/voices/coronavirus-lockdown-breaking-madrid-miami-entitled-americans-a9517476.html

54:15 - Lana Del Rey’s Instagram post - https://www.instagram.com/p/CAcQPuBJdir/

57:51 - Tuca and Bertie picked up by Adult Swim

58:56 - Article by Sara Luterman on Star Trek and disability -www.startrek.com/news/star-trek-picards-xbs-explore-the-realities-of-disability

 

Additional Links Mentioned:

  • Renee Bracey Sherman on Twitter - twitter.com/RBraceySherma
  • We Testify - wetestify.org
  • Abortion Access Front on Twitter - https://twitter.com/AbortionFront
  • Lizz Winstead on Twitter - https://twitter.com/lizzwinstead
  • “The Real Origins of the Religious Right” by Randall Balmer, Politico - https://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2014/05/religious-right-real-origins-107133
  • Help Lines:
  • National Suicide Prevention Lifeline - 1-800-273-8255
  • Trevor Support Center - 1-866-488-7386 - thetrevorproject.org
  • RAINN National Sexual Assault Hotline - 1-800-656-HOPE(4673) - rainn.org for live chat
  • Trans Lifeline’s Peer Support Hotline - 1-877-565-8860 / Canada: 877-330-6366 - translifeline.org
  • FFR 78: Tuca and Bertie - https://feminist-frequency-radio.simplecast.com/episodes/78-tuca-and-bertie-3nddmElD or https://youtu.be/EpP9dAU8MrM or https://www.patreon.com/posts/ffr-78-tuca-and-27035364

Follow Us:

  • Join our Patreon
  • Our Website
  • Subscribe on to FFR on Apple Podcasts
  • Twitter
  • Instagram


share







 2020-05-27  1h1m