On The Metal

As a part of starting Oxide Computer Company, Bryan Cantrill and Jess Frazelle decided to also create the podcast that they always wanted. Joined frequently by their boss, Steve Tuck, Bryan and Jess interview incredible guests retelling stories of adventure at the hardware/software interface. It’s unapologetically technical and as Jess says, “the nerdiest podcast on the face of the planet” -- but if you're their kind of nerd, you'll find yourself hanging on every word!

https://onthemetal.fm

subscribe
share





episode 10: Jess, Steve, and Bryan reflect on Season 1


Some of the highlights of the show include: 

  • Amir Michael's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-2-amir-michael/
  • Jeff Rothschild's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-1-jeff-rothschild/
  • Ron Minnich's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-3-ron-minnich/
  • Dr. Nim: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dr._Nim
  • Turing Tumble: https://www.turingtumble.com
  • Rick Altherr's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-7-rick-altherr/
  • Kenneth Finnegans's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-6-kenneth-finnegan/
  • Tom Lyon's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-4-tom-lyon/
  • Datapoint: The Lost Story of the Texans who Invented the Personal Computer Revolution by Lamont Wood: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16214216-datapoint
  • Jonathan Blow's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-9-jonathan-blow/
  • Jon Masters's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-8-jon-masters/
  • Jon Masters fiancée learns of his secret cache of old hardware: https://twitter.com/SRobTweets/status/1219314500232310784
  • Trammell Hudson's episode: https://oxide.computer/blog/on-the-metal-5-trammell-hudson/
  • Teletype 33: https://trmm.net/Model_ASR33_Teletype
  • Datapoint 3300: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datapoint_3300
  • The Witness hidden videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLkluW5M4MQENLM6WHwhcC30y5ZqRW6FVN
  • The Witness candle video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDOS4GqMbSA&list=PLkluW5M4MQENLM6WHwhcC30y5ZqRW6FVN&index=5&t=0s
  • Brian Moriarty, "The Secret of Psalm 46": http://ludix.com/moriarty/psalm46.html
  • Trinity: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinity_(video_game)
  • Robert Mustacchi: https://fingolfin.org/blog/20191202/oxide.html
  • Alex Wilson reflects on his and Robert's work on KPTI: https://blog.cooperi.net/a-long-two-months
  • Windows NT on MIPS: https://gunkies.org/wiki/Installing_Windows_NT_4.0_on_Qemu(MIPS)



share







 2020-02-03  41m