Ladybug Podcast

We're Emma Bostian, Sidney Buckner, Kelly Vaughn, and Ali Spittel - four seasoned software developers working in different sectors. Since there's a major lack of technical podcasts out there, we've decided to start one. Just kidding -- there's already a ton! But, we wanted to add our voices to the space and share our experiences and advice. We'll have great discussions around how to start coding, the hot technologies right now, how to get your first developer job, and more! Check out our website!

https://ladybug.dev

subscribe
share





Getting Hooked on React Part 2


React is a JavaScript library for building user interfaces and is one of the most widely used libraries to date. Last season we discussed the basics of React and today we’re going to dive into the more advanced aspects of the library. Let’s get started.

Episode Notes
  • [04:16] React Hooks
  • [22:28] State Management
  • [26:43] Design Patterns
  • [40:39] Performance
  • [49:33] Testing
  • [51:15] Prop types and TypeScript
  • [55:21] Shoutouts
Resources
  • Getting Hooked On React - https://www.ladybug.dev/episodes/getting-hooked-on-react?rq=react
  • React patterns - https://reactpatterns.com/
  • React Chrome Developer Tools - https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/react-developer-tools/fmkadmapgofadopljbjfkapdkoienihi
  • react-window - https://react-window.now.sh/#/examples/list/fixed-size
  • react-virtualized - https://bvaughn.github.io/react-virtualized/#/components/List
  • Methods of Improving & Optimizing Performance In React Apps - https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2020/07/methods-performance-react-apps/
  • React Testing Library - https://testing-library.com/docs/react-testing-library/intro/
  • Enzyme - https://enzymejs.github.io/enzyme/
  • Jest - https://jestjs.io/docs/en/getting-started
  • A Complete Guide to useEffect - https://overreacted.io/a-complete-guide-to-useeffect/
  • Use Refs Sparingly - https://blog.logrocket.com/why-you-should-use-refs-sparingly-in-production/
  • Presentational and Stateful components thoughts - https://medium.com/@dan_abramov/smart-and-dumb-components-7ca2f9a7c7d0
  • Episode with Angie - https://www.ladybug.dev/episodes/teaching-code
  • Kent C. Dodd’s Testing React - https://testingjavascript.com/
  • TypeScript book Stefan Baumgartner - https://typescript-book.com/
  • Playground Inspector Tik Tok - https://www.tiktok.com/@lukedonkin/video/6898240190133980418?lang=en
Transcript

https://github.com/ladybug-podcast/ladybug-website/blob/master/transcripts/69-intermediate-react.md


share







 2021-03-22  n/a