The VGMbassy

Welcome to The VGMbassy! You're listening to a podcast celebrating video games, video game music, and the online community of fans who love them. Each show will feature Ed Wilson (PixelTunes Radio, Impulse Project, Audio PanicRoom) and a rotating cast of guest host "VGMbassadors" who will share with us their gaming passions.


Episode 67: BreakQuest Featuring Music from Maniacs of Noise

Game music and demoscene chiptune collide in a multi-genre explosion of audio bliss! Today’s show features music from BreakQuest, an impressive breakout-style game with fantastic graphics and a complex physics engine. The soundtrack is comprised entirely of repurposed demoscene tunes composed by members of Maniacs of Noise: Thomas Mogensen (DRAX,) Jeroen Tel (WAVE,) and Thomas Petersen (Laxity.) Get ready for some expertly-crafted tracker music, and find out why DRAX is Ed’s favorite demoscene composer!

A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!
Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!
Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Mike Stark, Muddle MADness, Ryan Steel, Bedroth, Chris Murray, Cameron Chiles, David Parrish, Michael Bridgewater, Chris Myers, Donovan Orofino, Voltz Supreme, Harold Howard, Ben “The Diad” Dishman, Chris Steenerson, Dan Laughton, Jordan Werme, Cameron Werme, Kung Fu Carlito, Gryoki, Scott McElhone, Darryl Bowers (The Last Rican), Frankly Zappa, and Alex “The Messenger” Messenger.
Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy
Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy
Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app!

(PC, Mac, PSP, 2004)
Developed by Nurium Games, Published by Nurium Games, Red Marble Games, and Beatshapers
All Music Composed In FastTracker II Format by Thomas Mogensen (DRAX)
Jeroen Tel (WAVE) and Thomas Petersen (Laxity) 
1 – “No Expectations” by DRAX (2001)
2 – “Burning Bridges” by DRAX (2003)
3 – “Quickstep” by DRAX (1997)
4 – “Solitaire” by DRAX (2000)
5 – “Baked Beams” by DRAX (2001)
6 – “Death Wishing Well” by DRAX (2003)
7 – “The Unexpected” by DRAX (1997)
8 – “Cape Horn” by DRAX (2002)
9 – “A Fragmented Cowboy’s Lullaby” (2001)
10 – “Noisy Pillars 2001” by DRAX and WAVE (2001)
11 – “In My Life, My Mind” by WAVE (1999)
12 – “The Home Visit” by WAVE (1996)
13 – “Hyponetic” by Laxity (1997)
14 – “The Quest” by DRAX (1997)


 2021-03-31  1h55m